Planets, Pluto and Plutons

International Astronomical Union The International Astronomers Union is currently in the process of defining planets in such a manner as to make future determinations of bodies orbiting the sun simpler.

see also Synodic Cycles,

Pluto remains a planet, and has two moons in addition to Charon.

see Pluto and Roman Calendrics, Pluto’s Moons, & Two-by-Two.

There may be a total of 12 planets if the current working definition is adopted. From closest to the Sun to furthest:

Mercury – Venus – Earth – Mars – Ceres (previously planet, then asteroid, now???)

Jupiter – Saturn – Uranus – Neptune – Pluto – Charon –  “Xena” 2003 UB313


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: